At the 19th Annual Powder Awards in Breckenridge, Colorado, Teton Gravity Research, Henrik Harlaut, and Elyse Saugstad took home the biggest prizes of the night. See our gallery of photos from the show and backstage here.

In front of a captivated, standing-room-only audience at the Riverwalk Center, TGR won Movie of the Year with Far Out. Harlaut won Best Male Performance for his skiing in Regiment, by Stept Studios, his first time winning the award. Saugstad took home the trophy for Best Female for her performance in Matchstick Productions' All In, marking her second time winning the award.

“I feel phenomenal,” Harlaut said. “It's been a dream for me since I was very young, seeing Tanner (Hall) win it before, to be able to achieve that goal is crazy. I’m so honored about it.”

Henrik Harlaut

Henrik Harlaut took home the awards for Best Male Performance and third place in the men’s Powder Poll. PHOTO: Liam Doran

Saugstad previously won Best Female for her skiing in TGR's Co-Lab project . That film was a self-funded personal segment. In MSP’s All In, Saugstad was one of several women cast, including Angel Collinson, Michelle Parker, and Tatum Monod, delivering a departure from the typically token-female segments of the past.


“Honestly, being out in the mountains with Angel and Michelle made me more inspired to do that much more,” said Saugstad. “You see them do something and think, ‘I've got to do it, too.’ It makes a difference. And times are changing, and getting to the point where we girls can work together and not just be the token female anymore.”

Saugstad also won Photo of the Year with photographer Nic Alegre, and she took home third place in the Powder Poll.

Elyse Saugstad, Best Female Performance, Powder Awards

Queen of the night, Elyse Saugstad. PHOTO: Liam Doran

“A lot of work when into this,” said Alegre, who had a huge year by scoring two POWDER covers as well as Photo of the Year. “When you trust a skier like Elyse, it's huge. But that photo was a group vision. I was wandering around taking scenics, and it was Elyse's idea.” (The 2019 Photo of the Year shot at Monte Lussari, Italy, can be found in the January Photo Annual issue now on newsstands.)

For TGR, it was their first time winning Movie of the Year since 2016's For Lack of Better, filmed in conjunction with Clayton Vila, and the fifth time in Powder Awards history (the others were High Life, 2004; Re:Session, 2009; Almost Ablaze, 2014). TGR co-founder Todd Jones and editor Blake Campbell flew in to accept the night’s biggest award. TGR also won the award for Best Post-Production and Best Powder.

Powder Awards, Dew Tour

The 19th Annual Powder Awards returned to Breckenridge, Colorado, during the Dew Tour. PHOTO: Liam Doran

“I’m a ski bum,” Jones said, “and the first thing I do every day is figure out where I’m going to get my next powder turn, and how I’m going to make it happen.”

Conceived in 2001 as the first awards show recognizing the artistic expression of skiers, cinematographers, and photographers, the Powder Awards is the longest-running show in skiing and continues to celebrate the highest achievements in ski film. For the 19th annual, POWDER tapped Matt Sterbenz as host for the first time.

Sterbenz, a former professional freestyle skier, recently left his role as the founder and president of 4FRNT Skis to pursue a career in biotechnology. With skiing in his blood, Wisconsin-native Sterbenz returned to center stage to impart his love of skiing on the audience, as well as his respect for the athleticism required to be a professional skier.

Matt Sterbenz, Powder Awards

Matt Sterbenz, all-American skier, and your host. PHOTO: David Reddick

Through its longevity and attention to crisp production, the Powder Awards allows skiers the chance to sit back and reflect on the various feats that took place during the winter, as well as to chart the progression of the sport. With Breckenridge hosting the event for the third year in row, the Powder Awards coincides with the Dew Tour, and attracts passionate ski fans as well as dozens of athletes from around the world.

Speaking of which, Tof Henry flew in from Chamonix to collect hardware for Best Line in Daniel Rönnbäck’s film Born in Chamonix. Henry also claimed the coveted award for Breakthrough Performer, which recognizes the standout performance by a skier who busts onto the scene. Former winners include Sage Cattabriga-Alosa, Sean Pettit, and Kye Petersen.

Tof Henry, Powder Awards,

All the way from France, Breakthrough Performer of the Year, Tof Henry. PHOTO: David Reddick

“I have so much tension and so much emotion inside,” Henry said. “I’m so proud to be here and to get this award. It's a big evolution for my life as a skier. It's just the beginning and the motivation is so strong and I wish more for the future and can't wait to show you more.”

Henry added, “Skiing for me is everything. I am another person on skis.”

Eric Hjorleifson caught a last-minute flight from BC to attend the show, having spent the previous two weeks off the grid in a backcountry lodge. Go figure. He was on hand to help MSP’s director Scott Gaffney accept the award for Best Documentary for the film Hoji, which tells the personal story of how Hjorleifson became one of the most influential, if reluctant, ski stars on the planet.

“Scott was the motivation behind this whole project,” Hjorleifson said.


The night also crowned the best skiers as determined by the skiing public in the Powder Poll. This contest determines a skier’s influence across the globe. On the women’s side, Angel Collinson took top honors, while Candide Thovex repeated as the men’s winner.

19th Annual Powder Awards

PHOTO: David Reddick

Proceeds from ticket sales went to High Fives Foundation, whose mission is to help athletes recover after sustaining serious injuries in the mountains.

POWDER extends a sincere thank you to everyone who attended, and to the show’s sponsors 10 Barrel Brewing, Bulleit Frontier Whiskey, Don Julio, Toyota, and XBox Game Pass. See you next year for the 20th.


Powder Poll
1st Place: Candide Thovex
2nd Place: Cody Townsend
3rd Place: Henrik Harlaut

1st Place: Angel Collinson
2nd Place: Michelle Parker
3rd Place: Elyse Saugstad

Movie of the Year
Far Out, Teton Gravity Research

Best Documentary
Hoji, Matchstick Productions

Best Female Performance
Elyse Saugstad, All In, Matchstick Productions

Best Male Performance
Henrik Harlaut, The Regiment, Stept Studios

Best Short
Children of the Columbia, Sherpas Cinema

Best Cinematography
Children of the Columbia, Sherpas Cinema

Best Post-Production
Far Out, Teton Gravity Research

Best Air
Parker White, Zig Zag, Level 1 Productions

Best Line
Tof Henry, Born in Chamonix, Daniel Rönnbäck Photography

Best Powder
Sage Cattabriga-Alosa, Hadley Hammer, Nick McNutt, Dane Tudor, Far Out, Teton Gravity Research

Best Jib
Phil Casabon, En Particulier, B-Person

Breakthrough Performer
Tof Henry, Born in Chamonix, Daniel Rönnbäck Photography