Winter Dew Tour Championship: Wallisch and Turski Win Dew Cups

Nick Geopper wins slopestyle, but Wallisch takes home overall Dew Cup at Snowbasin

Feb. 12, 2012 (Snowbasin, Utah) — As fog descended over the mountain for the final contests of the day, Nick Goepper staked his claim to the Men’s Freeski Slopestyle win at the Winter Dew Tour Toyota Championship at Snowbasin.

He jumped out to an early lead with his first run, only to improve upon it with a victory lap that earned him a solid 95.00. He started his run with a 450 on 270 out on the first feature, followed by a front swap backside 450 out, and a switch 270 onto the cannon box with a rodeo 450 out. He continued to land a switch leftside double 1080 on the first jump, and a huge switch rightside double 1440 on the second.

“I’m excited,” said Goepper. “I didn’t get the Dew Cup, but I got the Paul Mitchell Breakthrough Athlete of the Year, which was awesome. I couldn’t be happier. I’ve been so close all season and to finally get on top feels incredible.”

After two wins at the Nike Open and Pantech Invitational, and a second place finish in Sunday’s contest, Tom Wallisch won the Men’s Freeski Dew Cup, becoming the first ski slopestyle athlete to win both the Winter X Games and Dew Cup in the same year.

“I was so happy to drop in and know I had the Dew Cup,” said Wallisch. “I was just excited to ski and have a fun run. With the Dew Cup and the Toyota Athlete of the Year, there’s so much to be happy about. This season couldn’t be going any better. It’s been a dream come true.”

Tour leader Kaya Turski sprang ahead of the pack in her first run and only improved on her second with a victory lap, earning a final score of 93.75 and the first Women’s Freeski Slopestyle Dew Cup. Her run started with a switch 270 onto the flat box gap to a front swap on the flat down, followed by a front swap on the A-frame rail and a blind 450 off the cannon box. She then hit the jumps, landing a 720 high mute and a switch 540 Japan.

“It felt really awesome to hold on to the lead and win the Dew Cup,” said Turski after the compeition. “All the girls are really skiing very well these days. The level is definitely being pushed. It’s really exciting when you’re up there dropping in. You know you have to bring your A game. That’s what I did today and I think everyone did that.”

The Winter Dew Tour kicked off in Breckenridge, Colorado, at the Nike Open before continuing to Killington, Vermont, for the Pantech Invitational and wrapping up in Snowbasin. Over the course of the four-day event, 38,700 people experienced the Winter Dew Tour Toyota Championship at Snowbasin.

You can catch all of the final runs from Sunday’s top finishers here.

For more information on the Dew Tour, visit

Winter Dew Tour Toyota Championship
Snowbasin, Utah
Feb. 9-12, 2012

Women’s Freeski Slopestyle Final Results

1.Kaya Turski, Canada, 93.75.
2. Anna Segal, Australia, 90.75.
3. Devin Logan, Dover, Vt., 89.00.
4. Emilia Wint, Denver, Colo., 82.00.
5. Keri Herman, Breckenridge, Colo., 77.00.
6. Ashley Battersby, Park City, Utah, 71.75.

Women’s Freeski Slopestyle – Tour Rankings

1. Kaya Turski, 200.
2. Devin Logan, 172.
3. Emilia Wint, 158.
4. Keri Herman, 136.
5. Dara Howell, 132.
6. Ashley Battersby, 128.
7. Emma Dahlstrom, 124.
8. Eveline Bhend, 113.
9. Rose Battersby, 93.
10. Anna Segal, 90.

Men’s Freeski Slopestyle Final Results

1. Nick Goepper, Lawrenceburg, Ind., 95.00.
2. Tom Wallisch, Pittsburgh, Penn., 92.25.
3. Bobby Brown, Breckenridge, Colo., 91.00.
4. Chris Laker, Cincinnati, Ohio, 90.25.
5. Russ Henshaw, Australia, 89.50.
6. Alex Bellemare, Canada, 88.00.
7. James Woods, Great Britain, 87.00.
8. Joss Christensen, Park City, Utah, 82.00.
9. Andreas Hatveit, Norway, 76.00.
10. Alex Beaulieu-Marchand, Canada, 70.00.
11. Jamieson Irvine, Canada, 69.00.
12. JF Houle, Canada, 13.00.

Men’s Freeski Slopestyle – Tour Rankings

1. Tom Wallisch, 335.
2. Nick Goepper, 322.
3. Bobby Brown, 281.
4. Russ Henshaw, 244.
5. Andreas Hatveit, 196.
6. Chris Laker, 184.
7. Joss Christensen, 171.
8. Alexis Godbout, 147.
9. Alex Bellemare, 141.
10. Jamieson Irvine, 139.