Skier makes turn with color

This must be what it feels like when Marcel Hirscher cuts a perfect turn. PHOTO: Red Bull/Skiing in Color

Aside from the unstoppable and potentially superhuman Lindsey Vonn, it was a slow weekend for the Americans on the World Cup circuit. Vonn’s Giant Slalom win at …re was the only time one of our own landed on the podium in the races in …re and Val d’Isere. It was an exciting weekend nonetheless, with Ted Ligety taking yet another huge fall and knocking himself out of GS. The crash left first place wide open for Marcel Hirscher, who has been dominating events across the board this season. This was his second consecutive GS win, and he took the event by a considerable margin of 1.29 seconds.

Meanwhile, Slovakian sweetheart Petra Vlhova skied to her first-ever win on the World Cup circuit in the ladies’ slalom. It’s been a big season for her, hitting a career best in Aspen and landing on the World Cup podium for the first time—and all before the winter even officially starts. Sweden’s Frida Hansdotter claimed a spot on the podium for the third consecutive slalom race but has yet to take first place—we’ll be keeping an eye on her. And where was Shiffrin? Home for evaluation. The 20-year-old took a fall while freeskiing down the race slope prior to GS, and was flown back to the States to recover from bone bruising and an MCL injury. Current evaluations predict she’ll be out for weeks, but is hoping to be back on her feet for the post-Christmas technical races. Check out the complete results below, and stay tuned for next week’s results from races all over France and Italy.

…re, Sweden

Ladies’ Giant Slalom
1. Lindsey Vonn, USA (2:04.70)
2. Eva-Maria Brem, AUT (2:04.77)
3. Federica Brignone, ITA, (2:05.05)

Ladies’ Slalom
1. Petra Vlhova, SVK (1:44.26)
2. Frida Hansdotter,SWE (1:44.85)
3. Nina Loeseth, NOR (1:44.91)

Val d’Isere, France

Men’s Giant Slalom
1. Marcel Hirscher, AUT (2:08.49)
2. Felix Neurether, GER (2:09.78)
3. Victor Muffat-Jeandet, FRA, (2:10.07)

Men’s Slalom
1. Henrik Kristofferson, NOR (1:38.87)
2. Marcel Hirscher, AUT (1:39.96)
3. Felix Neurether, GER (1:40.33)