Bobby Brown Wins Freeski and Jamie Anderson and Torstein Horgmo Win Snowboard Slopestyle Finals at the Toyota Championship

West Dover, Vt. – February 5, 2010 – Bobby Brown of Breckenridge, Colo. won the freeski slopestyle final at the Winter Dew Tour's Toyota Championship, while second-place finisher, Andreas Hatveit, was crowned the overall Dew Cup champion for the 2009-10 season. In women's snowboard slopestyle, Jamie Anderson of South Lake Tahoe, Calif. was named the Dew Cup champion and Female Athlete of the Year after winning today's final at Mount Snow Resort. Norway's Torstein Horgmo won the men's snowboard slopestyle final, while 16-year-old Sage Kostenburg – who placed second today – was named the overall Dew Cup champion, making him the youngest Dew Cup winner in Winter Dew Tour history.

At the freeski slopestyle final Brown, 18, did a flip off the rail, a variety of spins and ended his run with a double cork 1260, giving him a winning score of 91.75. Norwegian Hatveit came in second with an 89.00 and 21-year-old Sammy Carlson took the third-place position with a score of 86.75.

"If feels great to end the Dew Tour season on a strong note," said Brown. "Now I'm just looking forward to the Winter Dew Tour next year!"

Despite Brown's high-scoring run, it was not enough to make him the overall Dew Cup champion. That honor went to Hatveit, 23, a first-year competitor on the Winter Dew Tour, who ended his rookie season with the Tour's highest honor.

"Winning the Dew Cup feels great, and I'm so happy right now," said Hatveit. "I came onto the Winter Dew Tour expecting to have fun and do my best; to win the whole thing is just awesome."

Anderson, 19, won the women's snowboard slopestyle final, making her a first-time Dew Cup champion.  Her flawless 720 mid-run helped give her a winning score of 96.25. Twenty nine-year-old Jenny Jones of Great Britain took the second-place position with a score of 83.50 and Canadian Spencer O'Brien, 22, followed in third with a 78.75.

"It's unbelievable; I'm so excited to win the Dew Cup," said Anderson. "I've come so close before so to actually get it this year is a great feeling."

Horgmo, 22, won the men's snowboard slopestyle final after throwing out a switch 270 on the skate feature and a switch backside 1260 to give him a top score of 96.50. Park City, Utah-native Kostenburg came in second with a 90.25 and 23-year-old Ian Thorley of Marquette, Mich. rounded out the podium in third with a score of 86.75.

Kostenburg came on to the Tour this season as an Open Qualifier in Breckenridge, Colo., eking his way out of the open qualifier round of competition to take second place in his first professional contest. After being near the lead for all three stops, the rookie was crowned the youngest Dew Cup champion in the Winter Dew Tour's two-year history tonight.

"Before this year the thought of winning the Dew Cup didn't even cross my mind," said Kostenburg. "Coming into the stop I started to think, 'Hey, I can actually do this!' So I put my mind to it and to come away with the overall win is just amazing. I'm so excited!"

Saturday's events for the Toyota Championship include the superpipe finals for freeski and snowboarding. Sunday's events include the finals for the Gatorade Free Flow Tour, the official amateur series of the Winter Dew Tour, along with the Toyota Tricktopsy Big Air featuring top freeskiers like Simon Dumont, Bobby Brown and Jossi Wells.


Winter Dew Tour's Toyota Championship at Mount Snow Resort

Friday, February 5, 2010

West Dover, Vermont

Freeski Slopestyle Finals

1. Bobby Brown, Breckenridge, Colo., 91.75.  2. Andreas Hatveit, Norway, 89.00.  3. Sammy Carlson, Tigard, Ore., 86.75.  4. JF Houle, Canada, 84.00.  5. Alex Schlopy, Park City, Utah, 83.00.  6. Alexis Godbout, Canada, 82.00.  7. Tom Wallisch, Pittsburgh, Pa., 80.00.  8. Jossi Wells, New Zealand, 75.00.  9. Joe Schuster, Canada, 73.75.  10. Charles Gagnier, Canada, 72.50.  11. McRae Williams, Park City, Utah, 67.75.  12. Elvis Eidsvold Harsheim, Norway, 66.00.

Freeski Dew Cup Point Standings

1. Andreas Hatveit, 280.  2. Bobby Brown, 255.  3. Tom Wallisch, 250.  4. Sammy Carlson, 235.  5. Alexis Godbout, 170.  6. JF Houle, 164.  7. Jossi Wells, 153.  8. Elias Ambuhl, 152.  9. Philip Casabon, 151.  10. Charles Gagnier, 120.

Winter Dew Tour

The Winter Dew Tour consists of three major, multi-sport events spanning across the country, with a cumulative points system, and a $1.5 million competitive purse. Each event features men's and women's snowboard (superpipe and slopestyle) and freeskiing (superpipe and slopestyle). At season's end, the overall points leaders are crowned year-end champions and awarded the prestigious Dew Cup. As part of an Alli property, key lifestyle elements complement the competitions at each Tour event including the Festival Village, specialty competitions, and live, cutting-edge music. The Winter Dew Tour is broadcast live on NBC Sports with additional competition and lifestyle broadcasts on MTV, MTV2 and USA. The Winter Dew Tour is also distributed on Fuel TV, Universal HD, and internationally on Eurosport, Fox Australia and Extreme Channel. Winter Dew Tour partners include Mountain Dew (tour title sponsor); Totino's, Wendy's and Toyota (event title sponsors). Associate partners include Ball Park, MATADOR by Jack Link's, Nike 6.0, Paul Mitchell, PowerBar, Shaun White Snowboarding and Verizon Wireless. More information can be found at www.allisports.com.

Alli, the Alliance of Action Sports

Alli, the Alliance of Action Sports, is a global business that encompasses national and international action sports tours and events, multimedia production, and a consumer-facing lifestyle brand. The Alliance includes: the Dew Tour, Winter Dew Tour, China Invitational, Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship, King of Wake series, and the Gatorade Free Flow Tour; Alli Productions, which creates original content, produces and presents content with partners, and distributes Alli content through a variety of channels. Alli is owned by NBC Sports and MTV Networks. More information can be found at www.allisports.com.

NBC Universal

NBC Universal is one of the world's leading media and entertainment companies in the development, production, and marketing of entertainment, news, and information to a global audience. Formed in May 2004 through the combining of NBC and Vivendi Universal Entertainment, NBC Universal owns and operates the No. 1 television network, the fastest-growing Spanish-language network, a valuable portfolio of news and entertainment networks, a premier motion picture company, significant television production operations, a leading television stations group, and world-renowned theme parks. NBC Universal is 80%-owned by General Electric, with 20% controlled by Vivendi Universal.

MTV Networks

MTV Networks, a unit of Viacom (NYSE: VIA, VIA.B), is one of the world’s leading creators of programming and content across all media platforms. MTV Networks, with more than 150 channels worldwide, owns and operates the following television programming services – MTV: MUSIC TELEVISION, MTV2, VH1, mtvU, NICKELODEON, NICK at NITE, LOGO, COMEDY CENTRAL, TV LAND, SPIKE TV, CMT, NOGGIN, THE N, VH1 CLASSIC, MTVN INTERNATIONAL and THE DIGITAL SUITE FROM MTV NETWORKS, a package of 13 digital services, all of these networks trademarks of MTV Networks. MTV Networks connects with its audiences through its robust consumer products businesses and its more than 300 interactive properties worldwide, including online, broadband, wireless and interactive television services and also has licensing agreements, joint ventures, and syndication deals whereby all of its programming services can be seen worldwide.