SALT LAKE CITY, Utah (December 6, 2014) – The 15th Annual Powder Awards, the longest running ski awards show in the world, celebrated the skiing community tonight by honoring the top skiers, cinematographers, and photographers to a sold-out crowd at The Depot in downtown Salt Lake City last night.

“It was an absolutely beautiful evening with the best community in the world…skiers,” said Powder Editor John Stifter. “The 15th anniversary show was the best ever, blending unprecedented skiing and filmmaking, with legendary guest presenters like the Moe brothers, Aaron McGovern, Kim Reichhelm, Kent Kreitler, Pep Fujas, Sage Cattabriga-Alosa, and more, that will continue to advance the sport in the most positive of directions.”

The evening kicked off by honoring the winners of the Powder Poll with Ingrid Backstrom taking home her 10th consecutive award for the number one female.

“I'm speechless… It's kind of unbelievable to be recognized among such an amazing group of women,” said Backstrom. “There have always been incredible female rippers, but I’m so excited to be honored in a year that really honors such a huge group of diverse and talented women skiers.”

The Crowd

The sold-out crowd toasts the beautiful life of J.P. Auclair in one of the most emotional moments in the 15 years of the show. PHOTO:

In one of the greatest moments in the 15 years of the Powder Awards, the winner of the men's Powder Poll went to the late J.P. Auclair. The packed house stood for an eight-minute tribute—produced by Sherpas Cinema and Poor Boyz Productions—featuring the iconic skier who passed away, alongside friend and ski mountaineer Andreas Fransson, September 29 in a massive slough avalanche in Patagonia. There wasn’t a dry eye in the audience, as the infectious spirit of J.P. filled the room, reminding everyone of the pure joy he exuded on and off the mountain.

“J.P. was a grand skier in his own right, but it was his genuine humanistic approach to life that will be his legacy. He was the most engaged friend, partner to Ingrid [Sirois], father to Leo, philanthropist, artist, and skier. He truly lived life in the present, doing everything at 200 percent,” said Hans Smith, co-founder of Armada alongside Auclair, who came up to accept the award with J.P.'s father, Jean, and J.P.'s good friend, Julien Regnier.

Best Female Performance

Angel Collinson raises up her Best Female Performance award. PHOTO:

Passion for skiing and the ski community set the tone for the evening as Angel Collinson picked up Best Female Performance, and fourth place in the women's Powder Poll, for her hard-charging season with Teton Gravity Research. In fact, her segment was the first time in the 20-plus-year history of TGR that a woman had the opening segment.

But it was Cody Townsend who truly cleaned up at the show with his trifecta win of Best Line, Full Throttle, and Best Male Performance from his multiple segments in MSP Films’ Days Of My Youth. Reflecting on radical straightlines and preparing for the most controlled environments, the humbled Townsend reminded the crowd that, “regardless of skill, it’s the skier that is having the most fun that is truly the best skier.”

Best Male Performance

The man of the night, Cody Townsend, cleaned up at the 15th Annual show, winning Best Male Performance, Full Throttle, and Best Line. Here, he accepts Best Male from three-time winner and guest presenter Sage Cattabriga-Alosa. PHOTO:

The crew from Teton Gravity Research reinforced the importance of community in the ski industry in their acceptance speech for Movie of the Year with Almost Ablaze. “The authenticity of our community has always been there but it came down to capturing those moments on film," said TGR co-founder Todd Jones. "It’s not about the brands or the awards, it about the athletes—the individuals—who make up this amazing family of skiers, friend, and visionaries." It’s TGR’s second Movie of the Year award, first since 2004's High Life.

For more coverage, photos, and video from the biggest night in skiing, stay tuned to in the next few days.


Gigantic trophies to honor the 15th anniversary of the biggest night in skiing. PHOTO:


Photo of the Year

Photo: Oskar Enander/Sweetgrass
Eric Hjorleifson

Sentry Lodge, British Columbia

Full Throttle

Cody Townsend

Breakthrough Performer

Nick McNutt

Best Line

Cody Townsend, Days Of My Youth, MSP Films

Best Manmade Air

Henrik Harlaut, Oil and Water, Armada

Best Natural Air

Richard Permin, Days Of My Youth, MSP Films

Best Powder

Sage Cattabriga-Alosa, Johnny Collinson, Dylan Hood, Nick McNutt, 
Almost Ablaze, Teton Gravity Research

Best Jib

Phil Casabon, Oil and Water, Armada

Best Female Performance

Angel Collinson, Almost Ablaze, Teton Gravity Research

Best Male Performance

Cody Townsend, Days Of My Youth, MSP Films

Best Short

Afterglow, Sweetgrass Productions

Best Editing

Ten and Two, Stept Productions

Best Cinematography

Afterglow, Sweetgrass Productions

Best Documentary

Dream Line, Endlessflow Films

Movie of the Year

Almost Ablaze, Teton Gravity Research



1. Ingrid Backstrom
2. Lynsey Dyer
3. Michelle Parker
4. Angel Collinson
5. Tatum Monod


1. J.P. Auclair
2. Candide Thovex
3. Tanner Hall
4. Sage Cattabriga-Alosa
5. Seth Morrison
6. Sean Pettit
7. Tom Wallisch
8. Eric Hjorleifson
9. Henrik Harlaut
10. Cody Townsend

Special thanks to the 2015 show sponsors GoPro, Red Bull, Sierra Nevada Brewing, Ski City, and Bird Dog Whiskey.