Footy: Breck Dew Tour Superpipe Highlight Reel

Documentation of Saturday’s Nike 6.0 women and men’s freeski superpipe finals at the Winter Dew Tour, in Breckenridge:

Freeskiers Simon Dumont and Dania Assaly Win Superpipe Finals at the Winter Dew Tour’s Nike 6.0 Open at Breckenridge Ski Resort

From the Winter Dew Tour — Breckenridge, Colo. – December 18, 2010 – Kicking off the first round of finals for the 2010-11 Winter Dew Tour season, Simon Dumont of Bethel, Maine took the top podium position in the men's freeski superpipe final and Canada's Dania Assaly claimed the honors in the women's freeski superpipe finals.

After taking a fall at the end of his first run, Dumont, 24, came out swinging in his second run by throwing out tricks including a double cork 1260 and stylish double flip to earn a first place score of 94.50. Canadian-born Justin Dorey, 22, came in second with a 91.25 and France's Kevin Rolland, 21, followed behind in third with an 89.25.

"I was set up for a great first run and couldn't have been more frustrated when I fell at the end," said Dumont. "But I couldn't be happier with how it worked out and the fact that I'm starting off the Winter Dew Tour season with a win. I'm looking forward to dominating the halfpipe scene all year and staying consistently on the podium"

In his first professional contest, 15-year-old Torin Yater-Wallace of Basalt, Colo., came in fifth overall with a score of 83.25. Yater-Wallace was the men's freeski superpipe champion last season on the Gatorade Free Flow Tour, the official amateur series of the Winter Dew Tour, earning him a pre-qualified spot at the Nike 6.0 Open.

Again proving that the second run was clutch in today's superpipe competitions, 23-year-old Assaly threw out a 900, back-to-back 540s and a 720 in the women's freeski superpipe final, giving her a top score of 91.25. Switzerland's Mirjam Jaeger, 28, placed second with an 83.00 and 27-year-old Jessica Cumming of Wilton, Conn. rounded out the podium in third with a 79.50.

Through the support of Paul Mitchell, the Nike 6.0 Open is featuring expanded women's freeski superpipe and slopestyle competitions.

"I think Paul Mitchell did a great job by adding extra spots for women's freeski," said Assaly. "I'm beyond excited to have won today, and I can't wait for Snowbasin."

The four-day competition is the first of three stops on the 2010-11 Winter Dew Tour featuring men and women's snowboarding and freeskiing disciplines. The Nike 6.0 Open will conclude tomorrow with the snowboard and freeski slopestyle finals for both men and women.


Nike 6.0 Open
Saturday, December 18, 2010
Breckenridge, Colo. – Breckenridge Ski Resort

Men's Freeski Superpipe – Finals
1. Simon Dumont, Bethel, Maine, 94.50. 2. Justin Dorey, Canada, 91.25. 3. Kevin Rolland, France, 89.25. 4. Thomas Krief, France, 85.00. 5. Torin Yater-Wallace, Basalt, Colo., 83.25. 6. Walter Wood, Evergreen, Colo., 78.75. 7. Duncan Adams, Breckenridge, Colo., 78.25. 8. Xavier Bertoni, France, 77.75. 9. Noah Bowman, Canada, 72.75. 10. Byron Wells, New Zealand, 66.25. 11. Jossi Wells, New Zealand, 56.00. 12. Mike Riddle, Canada, 16.75

Men's Freeski Superpipe – Tour Rankings
1. Simon Dumont, 100. 2. Justin Dorey, 92. 3. Kevin Rolland, 86. 4. Thomas Krief, 82. 5. Torin Yater-Wallace, 78. 6. Walter Wood, 74. 7. Duncan Adams, 70. 8. Xavier Bertoni, 66. 9. Noah Bowman, 62. 10. Byron Wells, 58.

Women's Freeski Superpipe – Finals
1.Dania Assaly, Canada, 91.25. 2. Mirjam Jaeger, Switzerland, 83.00. 3. Jessica Cumming, Wilton, Conn., 79.50. 4. Anais Caradeux, France, 76.50. 5. Devin Logan, Dover, Vt., 33.50. 6. Rosalind Groenewoud, Canada, 26.50

Women's freeski results are not part of season-long rankings.
The remaining 2010-11 Winter Dew Tour schedule is as follows:

Event Date Location
Winter Dew Tour Killington Jan. 20-23 Killington Resort – Killington, Vt.
Toyota Championships Feb. 10-13 Snowbasin Resort – Ogden, Utah

In its third season, the top athletes in the world will take part in the 2010-11 Winter Dew Tour, all competing for the highly coveted Dew Cup that will be awarded at the Toyota Championship at Snowbasin Resort in Ogden, Utah. The 2009-10 Dew Cup champions include Andreas Hatveit (Freeski Slopestyle), Jossi Wells (Freeski Superpipe), Jamie Anderson (Women's Snowboard Slopestyle), Sage Kotsenburg (Men's Snowboard Slopestyle), Kaitlyn Farrington (Women's Snowboard Superpipe), JJ Thomas (Men's Snowboard Superpipe).

# # #
Winter Dew Tour
The Winter Dew Tour consists of three major, multi-sport events spanning across the country, with a cumulative points system, and a $1.5 million competitive purse. Each event features snowboard (superpipe and slopestyle) and freeskiing (superpipe and slopestyle). At season's end, the overall point's leaders are crowned year-end champions and awarded the prestigious Dew Cup. As part of an Alli property, key lifestyle elements compliment the competitions at each Tour event including the Festival Village, specialty competitions, and live cutting edge music. The Winter Dew Tour is broadcast live on NBC Sports with additional competition and lifestyle broadcasts on MTV, MTV2 and USA. The Winter Dew Tour is also distributed on Fuel TV, Universal HD, and internationally on Eurosport, Fox Australia and Extreme Channel. Current Winter Dew Tour partners include Mountain Dew, Toyota, Nike 6.0, Verizon, MATADOR Beef Jerky, Power Bar, Paul Mitchell, Ball Park and National Guard. For more information, visit .