Powder Awards Recognizes Biggest Names in Skiing

'All.I.Can.', Pettit, Backstrom, Wallisch and White Earn Top Honors for 2012

Sherpas Cinemas collected the Movie of the Year Saturday night at the 2012 Powder Awards in Aspen. Photo: Reddick/Taylor/Smith

ASPEN, Colo. (January 25, 2012) – Sherpas Cinema's All.I.Can., Sean Pettit, Ingrid Backstrom, and Tom Wallisch were awarded top honors tonight at the 12th annual POWDER Awards presented by Casio G z'One Commando and Verizon Wireless. The historic Hotel Jerome in Aspen, Colo. played host to the biggest night in skiing, where POWDER Magazine honored the Top 10 Men and Top 5 Women, as voted on by fans, as well as "Movie of the Year," "Best Documentary," "Best Jib," and several other categories for top film performances in 2012.

In the Men's Reader Poll, Tom Wallisch, originally from Pittsburgh, Pa. and now a Salt Lake City, Utah, local, claimed his second consecutive Reader Poll No. 1 this year. Following Wallisch was Sean Pettit (Whistler, B.C., CAN), Sage Cattabriga-Alosa (Salt Lake City, Utah), Seth Morrison (Frisco, Colo.), Bobby Brown (Breckenridge, Colo.), Kye Petersen (Whistler, B.C., CAN), Erik Roner (Lake Tahoe, Calif.), Tanner Hall (Park City, Utah), Eric Hjorleifson (Canmore, Alberta, CAN) and Henrik Harlaut (SWE).

"It’s awesome to win the award again," said Wallisch stage right. "It’s something I definitely try to pride myself on—to be as friendly and fun as I can. The fact that the readers like what I’m doing, means a ton."

On the women's side of the Reader Poll, Ingrid Backstrom of Olympic Village, Calif., took the top slot. Backstrom also took home "Best Female Performance" for her part in Attack of La Niña (MSP Films). Rounding out the rest of the top five women was the late Sarah Burke, Kaya Turski (Montreal, Quebec, CAN), Grete Eliassen (Salt Lake City, Utah) and Rachael Burks (Salt Lake City, Utah).

"I didn’t do so well for a couple years. But Matchstick still believed in me and we made it work," said Backstrom outside the Hotel Jerome ballroom. "The fact I was nominated with women I look up to, the state of women’s skiing…I can’t believe I’m involved in it. It takes a whole year of patience and waiting for the safe conditions. You either get lucky or you don’t. It’s about the journey."

For the Video Awards portion of the evening, All.I.Can. from Sherpas Cinema cleaned house, taking home several awards including the coveted "Movie of the Year," in a notably contentious category that also included Attack of La Niña (MSP Films), One for the Road (Teton Gravity Research), After Dark (Level 1 Productions) and Weight (Stept Productions). All.I.Can. also earned honors for "Best Editing," and "Best POV," not to mention, "Best Natural Air" and "Full Throttle" for Kye Petersen's part in the film.

"We won at X Dance and the Banff Film Festival, but to have an award given to us by our tribe in the action sports industry means the most by far," said Sherpas Cinema co-director Eric Crosland. "It’s something you dream of as a filmmaker. The film was really complex and it weighed on us the whole time how we were gonna convey it. But the whole thing had a lot of serendipitous moments."

After a groundbreaking year that included travels to places as diverse as Hokkaido, Japan, and Cooke City, Montana, Parker White (Mount Snow, Vt.) was granted the North Face Breakthrough Performance for his role in Level 1 Productions' After Dark.

"I definitely didn't expect this, but I'm so stoked and grateful for the award," said White.

The POWDER Awards brought together the best skiers, the most talented filmmakers and the legends of the sport for a night of celebration and tribute.

"We worked really hard on this show, and it's great to unite the ski family at an event like this," said Editor Derek Taylor.

Log onto PowderAwards.com to see the full show, as well as behind-the-scenes photos, results and more.

Special thanks to presenting sponsors Casio G'zOne Commando and Verizon, as well as supporting sponsors Kru82, GoPro, The North Face, Red Bull, Sailor Jerry Rum and Heineken.

2012 POWDER Awards Results

Reader Poll Top 10 Men
1. Tom Wallisch
2. Sean Pettit
3. Sage Cattabriga-Alosa
4. Seth Morrison
5. Bobby Brown
6. Kye Petersen
7. Erik Roner
8. Tanner Hall
9. Eric Hjorleifson
10. Henrik Harlaut

Reader Poll Top 5 Women
1. Ingrid Backstrom
2. Sarah Burke
3. Kaya Turski
4. Grete Eliassen
5. Rachael Burks

Video Awards

Best Female Performance
Ingrid Backstrom – Attack of La Niña (MSP Films)

Best Male Performance
Sean Pettit – Attack of La Niña (MSP Films)

The North Face Breakthrough Performance
Parker White – After Dark (Level 1 Productions)

Best Natural Air
Kye Petersen – All.I.Can. (Sherpas Cinema)

Best Manmade Air
Nothing Else Matters (Legs of Steel)

Full Throttle
Kye Petersen – All.I.Can. (Sherpas Cinema)

Best Line
Dean Cummings – The Steep Life (Nick Bowie)

Best Jib
J.F. Houle – After Dark (Level 1 Productions)

Best Powder
Tobi Reindl, Paddy Graham, Thomas Hlawitschka, and Sven Kueenle – Nothing Else Matters (Legs of Steel)

Best POV
J.P. Auclair – All.I.Can. (Sherpas Cinema)

Best Editing
All.I.Can. (Sherpas Cinema)

Best Cinematography presented by GoPro
The Ordinary Skier (1242 Productions)

Best Web Series
Salomon Freeski TV (Switchback Entertainment)

Best Documentary
The Freedom Chair (Switchback Entertainment)

Movie of the Year
All.I.Can. (Sherpas Cinema)

For 40 years, POWDER, The Skier's Magazine, has been produced by and for those who embrace skiing, and is developed through a collective love of two things: good skiing and good magazines. Since it's inception in 1972, the strength of the POWDER title has been based on authenticity, experience, and respect for its readers—the most passionate, dedicated, and loyal in the sport. POWDER is part of Source Interlink Media's Grind Media that reaches more than 10 million active sports enthusiasts through an integrated network of magazines, online properties, events and television programming. For more information, please visit www.powder.com.

About GrindMedia
Reaching more than 10 million enthusiasts, Source Interlink Media's Grind Media is the dominant force in the action sports and adventure sports arenas. In addition to publishing leading lifestyle publications such as Surfer, Surfing, Snowboarder, Skateboarder, Bike, Paved, POWDER, ATV Rider, Dirt Rider, Canoe & Kayak and SUP Magazine, Grind Media delivers a cutting-edge network of online properties such as Fantasy Surfer, events and television programming. For more information, please visit grindmedia.com.

About Source Interlink Media, L.L.C.
Source Interlink Media, LLC, a subsidiary of Source Interlink Companies, Inc. is the premier source of special interest media in the United States. With more than 70 targeted publications, 90 websites, 800 branded products, 65+events, and TV and radio programs, SIM is the largest provider of content to enthusiast communities interested in automotive, action sports, marine and other niche activities. The division's strategy is to wholly focus on targeted audiences by leveraging and expanding upon its core market-leading brands through a multiplatform media approach.

Media Contact:
Dawn Hamilton
KHPR for GrindMedia