14th Annual Powder Awards Results

Valhalla wins Movie of the Year, Tim Durtschi wins Best Male Performance, Elyse Saugstad wins Best Female Performance

Screen shot 2013-12-07 at 9.09.47 AM

Check out photos of the winners gallery, red-carpet action, and the scene from the 14th Annual Powder Awards.

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH (December 6, 2013) – With a welcomed return to Utah, the 14th Annual Powder Awards honored the top skiers, cinematographers, and photographers tonight with a sold-out crowd at The Depot in downtown Salt Lake City.

Sweetgrass Productions celebrated their first-ever Movie of the Year award by stripping down naked (their signature film style) and collecting the most-coveted award for Valhalla, after earlier winning the award for Best Editing for the same film.

“We’re a small team and we just pushed and pushed and pushed,” said the entire Sweetgrass crew, which included all filmmakers, athletes, and their mothers. “We’ve been up against the odds—small budgets, stray fireworks, and getting completely naked—but it really became a battle against ourselves to create the most unique and interesting segments. It pushed us beyond our comfort zones that made us our own personal competition to create something that has never been done. By asking ourselves how could we get weirder and wilder, we found we could expand creatively.”

The Sweetgrass crew does their Sweetgrass thing, here accepting their first-ever Movie of the Year Powder Award. They also took home Best Editing.

The Sweetgrass crew does their Sweetgrass thing, here accepting their first-ever Movie of the Year Powder Award. They also took home Best Editing.

“Holy smokes, what a show,” said POWDER Editor John Stifter. “From the amazing new venue in downtown Salt Lake, to the guest presenters like Scot Schmidt, Daron Rahlves, Greg Stump, and Wendy Fisher, to the wild Sweetgrass crew taking home Movie of the Year, the biggest night in skiing lived up to the hype and more.”

Tim Durtschi won early on in the evening with Best Natural Air for his rodeo 7 in Field Productions’ Supervention only to later win the prestigious Best Male Performance for his segment in Way Of Life from Teton Gravity Research.

“I’m really excited about winning both of my awards tonight,” said Durtschi. “Cheers to another great season.”

The 14th Annual Powder Awards moved to downtown Salt Lake City at The Depot.

The 14th Annual Powder Awards moved to downtown Salt Lake City at The Depot.

Elyse Saugstad proved her prowess in TGR’s Co-Lab segment, earning her the top spot for Best Female Performance and as a fan favorite, capturing one of the top five spots in this year’s Powder Poll.

“I’m surrounded by a group of strong female skiers, and to know that I was able to contribute to women’s skiing is such an honor,” said Saugstad. “It’s so amazing to be a part of the Powder Awards, and to actually win an award this year is the pinnacle of my career outside of my personal achievements.”

The long awaited release of McConkey, from MSP Films and Red Bull Media, was honored with Best Documentary and a roaring round of cheers, applause, and emotion for industry hero Shane McConkey.


Photo of the Year
Caroline Gleich, Alta, Utah
Photographer: Liam Doran

Best Jib
Max Morello, Tracing Skylines, Poor Boyz Productions

Best Manmade Air
Sean Pettit, Tracing Skylines, Poor Boyz Productions

Best Natural Air
Tim Durtschi, Supervention, Field Productions

Breakthrough Performer
Dale Talkington

Full Throttle
Callum Pettit

Best Line
Callum Pettit, Into The Mind, Sherpas Cinema

Best Powder
Dylan Hood, Sage Cattabriga-Alosa, and Colter Hinchcliffe, Way Of Life, Teton Gravity Research

Best Female Performance
Elyse Saugstad, Co-Lab, Teton Gravity Research

Best Male Performance
Tim Durtschi, Way Of Life, Teton Gravity Research

Best Short
Super Mom, Switchback Entertainment

Best Editing
Valhalla, Sweetgrass Productions

Best Cinematography
Into The Mind, Sherpas Cinema

Best Documentary
McConkey, MSP Films and Red Bull Media House

Movie of the Year
Valhalla, Sweetgrass Productions

Powder Poll Men
1. Seth Morrison
2. Sean Pettit
3. Candide Thovex
4. Sage Cattabriga-Alosa
5. Eric Hjorleifson
6. Drew Tabke
7. J.P. Auclair
8. Mark Abma
9. Pep Fujas
10. Tom Wallisch

Powder Poll Women
1. Ingrid Backstrom
2. Michelle Parker
3. Angel Collinson
4. Elyse Saugstad
5. Lindsey Vonn

Special thanks to our presenting sponsors GoPro, Red Bull, Sierra Nevada Brewing, Ski Salt Lake, and Snowbird Resort.

Screen shot 2013-12-07 at 9.16.43 AM

For 42 years, POWDER, The Skier’s Magazine, has been produced by and for those who embrace skiing, and is developed through a collective love of two things: good skiing and good magazines. Since it’s inception in 1972, the strength of the POWDER title has been based on authenticity, experience, and respect for its readers—the most passionate, dedicated, and loyal in the sport. For the 14th Annual Powder Awards, the recipients of both the men’s and women’s Powder Poll winners earned new, completely customized Apple iPad mini’s, courtesy of Fusion of Ideas. These one-of-a kind awards come pre-loaded with unique digital content with personalized graphics and packaging. POWDER is part of Source Interlink Media’s Grind Media that reaches more than 10 million active sports enthusiasts through an integrated network of magazines, online properties, events and television programming. For more information, please visit Powder.com.

About GrindMedia
Source Interlink Media’s GrindMedia is the world’s largest action/adventure/outdoor media company, with 29 leading media assets featuring brands such as GrindTV.com, SURFER, SURFING, TransWorld SKATEboarding, Bike, POWDER, TransWorld Motocross, Snowboarder, Canoe & Kayak and more. GrindMedia reaches more than 40 million engaged consumers every month through its print, online, mobile, TV/video and events. Delivering significant reach across both action sports enthusiast and various in-market consumer audiences, GrindMedia also produces more than 40 leading events and webcasts such as Surfer Poll Awards, TransWorld SKATEboarding Awards, Powder Video Awards, Lowers Pro and EnduroCross. GrindMedia is also the exclusive action and adventure sports content provider for Yahoo! Sports. To learn more, visit grindmedia.com.

About Source Interlink Media, LLC:
Source Interlink Media, LLC, a subsidiary of Source Interlink Companies, Inc. is the premier source of special interest media in the United States. With more than 70 targeted publications, 90 websites, 800 branded products, 65+events, and TV and radio programs, SIM is the largest provider of content to enthusiast communities interested in automotive, action sports, marine and other niche activities. The division’s strategy is to wholly focus on targeted audiences by leveraging and expanding upon its core market-leading brands through a multiplatform media approach.


Media Contact:
Kate Gaeir
Public Relations for POWDER Magazine
(206) 334-0863