January is Learn to Ski and Snowboard Month

CONTACT: Mary Jo Tarallo | mjt@learntoskiandsnowboard.org | 202-431-6950

The organizers of the snow sports industry’s Learn to Ski and Snowboard/Bring a Friend initiative have re-launched thewww.learntoskiandsnowboard.org web site and added new features. The initiative is dedicated to motivating newcomers to learn by taking lessons from professional instructors. January is Learn to Ski and Snowboard Month.

Ohio-based nxtConcepts developed a strong visual look for the site integrating graphics originated by Denver-based Cultivator Advertising and Design. The site enables those new to snow sports to find information easily about learning locations, how to dress, nutrition and hydration and more.

A major new feature is “Your Mountain” an interactive display designed to give newcomers a “sneak preview” of what to expect their first time visiting a ski/snowboard area. Also new are the Beginner VIP experience (coming soon) that will enable newcomers to better craft their first-time visit to the slopes, additional tips on how today’s products are making it easier to learn the sports and also tips on how ski/snowboard areas are catering to a variety of diversified audiences.

Two popular returning programs included on the site are the Bring a Friend Challenge and #firstdayfaces. The Challenge rewards those who help a newcomer sign up for beginner lessons at any location in the U.S. Head/Tyrolia, Burton, Elan/Alpina, Polarmax, Rossignol/Lange, Seirus, Transpack and Zeal Optics are providing prizes. Anyone who enters the Challenge is eligible to receive a free one-year membership in the Mountain Sports Club a membership group that offers discounts on lift tickets, travel, gear and more. Snocru is the presenting sponsor. It is a ski and snowboard app for IOS and Android users.

The social media campaign #firstdayfaces offers prizes for beginners who post on their favorite social media platform photos of themselves enjoying their first day learning how to ski or snowboard from a professional instructor. Skis.com/snowboards.com, GetSkiTickets.com and Liftopia.com all are offering a $250 gift vouchers for the top winning photos.

Both the Challenge and #firstdayfaces run from Monday, December 5, 2016 – Tuesday, February 28, 2017. Both programs are conducted entirely online at www.learntoskiandsnowboard.org.

The World’s Largest Lesson is scheduled for Friday, January 6, 2017 at host locations throughout the U.S. and Canada. All U.S. locations are posted on the Learn to Ski and Snowboard web site. Canadian locations are posted at the Canadian Ski Council’s web site.

Ski and snowboard lessons will be taught separately. All lessons will take place simultaneously starting at 9 am Alaska time, 10 am Pacific time, 11 am Mountain time, 12 noon Central time, 1 PM Eastern time, 2 pm Atlantic time and 2:30 pm Newfoundland time. The latter to time zones are for Canada-only.

The National Ski Areas Association, Professional Ski Instructors of America-American Snowsports Instructors of America, SnowSports Industries America, and the National Ski Patrol are the national partners for Learn To Ski and Snowboard/Bring a Friend. Additional partners include rep associations, retailer buying and membership groups, and state/regional resort associations throughout the U.S.